Search our website

Costa Rica

Notice to the Public:

The Embassy of Costa Rica in Canada would like to announce that due to the pandemic of COVID-19 we Will be closed from 19/03/2020 until further notice. We respond to all emails and voice messages we receive and we provide consular assistance, to those who find themselves in a Consular Emergency situation. Consular Emergency telephone number for Costa Rican citizens: 613-709-0193.

The Government of Costa Rica has informed that starting Wednesday March 18 th , 2020 at 23:59, only Costa Rican nationals and residents Will be able to enter the country, whether by flight, land or sea.

Costa Rica

Aviso al público:

La Embajada de Costa Rica en Canada desea anunciar que, debido a la
pandemia de COVID-19, estaremos cerrados al público de 19 de marzo
del 2020 hasta nuevo aviso. Mientras tanto responderemos a todos los
correos electrónicos y mensajes de voz que recibamos y brindaremos
asistencia a los ciudadanos costarricenses, que necesiten asistencia
consular en situación de emergencia. Para brindar asistencia a los
ciudadanos costarricense el número de teléfono para la emergencia
consular es 613-709-0193.

El gobierno de Costa Rica informa que a partir del miércoles 18 de
marzo de 2020 a las 23:59, solo nacionales y residentes podrán
ingresar al país, ya sea por vía aérea, marítima o terrestre.

Costa Rica


Welcome to the website of the Embassy of Costa Rica in Canada.

Costa Rica and Canada share values and principles including its commitment to democracy and defence and promotion of human rights and peace. Bilateral relations are focused in the ….read more

Sections of interest

Foreign policy


Trade And Investments

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a passport to go to Costa Rica?

A valid passport is mandatory to enter Costa Rica. For Canadians it is accepted a passport with a minimum of one day of validity from the entry date to Costa Rica. For other nationalities, please refer to the Visa section on this website.

Can I enter Costa Rica with a one way ticket?

All visitors must have an entry and exit ticket, whether it is by air or by land, as the case may be, as a requirement to enter the country. For more information, visit the Visa section on this website for all entry requirements.

Are credit cards accepted in Costa Rica?

All major credit cards are widely accepted. You will find ATM machines distributed throughout the country.

What documents are required to enter with a pet to Costa Rica?

All pets traveling to Costa Rica must have an International Health Certificate for Dogs and Cats, issued by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency specifically for Costa Rica. Please refer to the BRINGING YOUR CAT OR DOG TO COSTA RICA section on this website

Do I need a visa to go to Costa Rica?

Depending on your country of origin you may enter Costa Rica without a visa. Canadians do not need a visa to enter Costa Rica. For more information, visit the Visa section on this website.

Do I need an international driver´s license to drive in Costa Rica?

You are allowed to drive with your normal driver’s license for three months.

What kind of inoculations do I have to take to Costa Rica?

Costa Rican authorities will demand that all travelers coming from the following countries have a yellow fever vaccination certificate:

Africa: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of  Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, and Zambia. South and Central America: Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Venezuela, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Paraguay, Surinam and French Guyana.